Le changement climatique, un enjeu géostratégique? Oui!

"L'hiver arrive" Tel est le slogan des Starks, l'éminente famille féodale décrite dans "Game of Thrones", la série de romans fantastiques de George RR Martin [1]. Ses membres sont impliqués dans de nombreuses et imbriquées luttes pour le pouvoir entre les différentes Chambres d'un royaume, dont le dirigeant est faible (et connaît un destin triste). Ce continent est dominé par un climat étrange, divisé en deux saisons, une été et une hiver, chacune pouvant durer plusieurs années. Les hivers peuvent être terriblement froids et neigeux, provoquer une famine généralisée pendant très longtemps, ainsi que de terribles conflits, et décider, par leur dureté, comme la guerre, du destin des nations. Quand «l'hiver arrive», le moment est venu de se préparer pour des temps dominés par le froid, le désespoir et la […]

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

Bienvenue à un nouvel auteur sur la sécurité du changement climatique

La Société d'analyse rouge (équipe) accueille le Dr Jean Michel Valantin, qui se concentrera sur les questions et problèmes liés au changement climatique et à la sécurité nationale. Le Docteur Jean-Michel Valantin (PhD Paris) est spécialisé en études stratégiques et en sociologie de la défense, et plus particulièrement en géostratégie de l'environnement. Il est l'auteur de Menaces climatiques sur l'ordre mondial. […]

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly No120, 3 octobre 2013

Outre d'autres problèmes, l'accord entre les États-Unis et le Japon sur la modernisation de leur coopération en matière de sécurité, impliquant notamment un rôle plus important pour le Japon, devrait avoir des répercussions, notamment compte tenu de la situation tendue avec la Chine et des blessures régionales non cicatrées résultant de la Seconde Guerre mondiale. . La sécurité énergétique est alors très présente, […]

Pattern - Températures mondiales plus élevées, impacts antérieurs et générosité des carburants de schiste

Nous devons probablement nous préparer à une augmentation de la température de 2 ° C et à son impact dur sur le monde relativement rapidement, car une augmentation de la température de 6 ° C - et plus - d'ici la fin du siècle est de plus en plus probable. En effet, les intérêts, les défis et les tensions actuels sont les plus susceptibles de favoriser la production et les politiques des carburants de schiste et d'avoir une incidence défavorable sur les «efforts écologiques». D'autres impacts écologiques néfastes sur les questions de sécurité mondiale telles que l'eau et la biodiversité peuvent être renforcés et doivent être surveillés. La mobilisation des citoyens sur ces questions peut évoluer à mesure que des compromis seront faits et que des impacts se feront sentir.

Pour accéder à cet article, vous devez devenir l'un de nos membres. Log in si vous êtes membre.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No71, 25 octobre 2012

No71 - 25 octobre 2012 Quatre grands thèmes ou méta-questions aujourd'hui, qui ne sont pas surprenants, mais qui montrent toutes des tensions croissantes et de nouveaux problèmes: la Chine… et le Japon; Proche-Orient / Moyen-Orient; Crise de l'Europe, changements environnementaux et énergie. Ajoutez à cela quelques développements intéressants en termes de capacités et de technologies… Cliquez sur l'image pour lire […]

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No51, 7 juin 2012

No51 - 7 juin 2012 - Cliquez sur l'image ci-dessous pour lire sur Paper.Li (meilleur avec les mobiles et les tablettes)

FR
EN FR

The Ultimate Key Technologies of the Future (3) – Extreme Environments

This third article is the last part of our “equation” to identify the key technologies of the future. We started, with the first article, in establishing that solely making laundry lists of new technologies was insufficient to identify the key technologies of the future. We needed more: a system explaining the logic behind the success …

The Key Technologies of the Future (2) – Evolution

In the first part of this series we found that solely making laundry lists of new technologies was insufficient to identify the key technologies of the future. Use of inadequate classifications made matters worse. We needed more: a system explaining the logic behind the success of technologies. Thus, we developed a schematic model depicting the …

The Key Technologies of the Future (1)

We live in a world of increasingly abundant new technologies, seen as crucial for our future. Those are not only new, but also meant to revolutionise our lives for the better. Progress cannot be imagined without technology. Technology is meant to save us all. The speed with which bio-tech contributed to develop efficient vaccines against …

Climate Change, a Geostrategic Issue? Yes!

“Winter is coming” This is the motto of the Starks, the eminent feudal family depicted in “Game of Thrones”, the fantasy novel series, by George R.R. Martin [1]. Its members are involved in numerous and interlocking power struggles between the different Houses of a kingdom, whose ruler is weak ( and meets a sad fate). This continent is dominated by a strange climate, divided in two seasons, a summer and a winter, each potentially lasting several years. Winters can be fearfully cold and snowy, induce mass starvation for a very long time, as well as terrible conflicts, and decide, by their harshness, like war, of the destiny of nations. When “Winter is coming”, the moment has come to get prepared for times dominated by cold, despair and …

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

Welcome to a new Author on Climate Change Security

The Red (Team) Analysis Society welcomes Dr Jean Michel Valantin, who will focus on issues and problems related to climate change and national security. Dr Jean-Michel Valantin (PhD Paris) is specialised in strategic studies and defense sociology, and more particularly in environmental geostrategy. He is the author of Menaces climatiques sur l’ordre mondial (Climatic threat on the …

The Red (Team) Analysis Weekly No120, 3 October 2013

Besides other issues, the agreement between the U.S. and Japan to modernize their security cooperation, implying among others a larger role for Japan, is most likely to have ripple effects, notably considering the tense situation with China and unhealed regional wounds stemming from World War II. Energy security then is very much to the fore, …

Pattern – Higher Global Temperatures, Earlier Impacts and the Shale Fuels Bounty

We most probably need to get ready for a 2C temperature rise and its harsh impact on the world relatively rapidly as a temperature rise of 6C – and above – by the end of the century is increasingly probable. Indeed, interests and current challenges and tensions are most likely to favour shale fuels’ production and policies and adversely affect “green efforts”. Other ecological adverse impacts on global security issues such as water and biodiversity may be enhanced and must be monitored. Citizens’ mobilization on those issues may evolve as trade-offs will be done, and as impacts will be felt.

The remaining part of this article is for our members. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Become one of our members and access this article. Log in if you are a member.

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No71, 25 October 2012

No71 – 25 October 2012 Four main themes or meta issues today, none of them surprising, but all of them showing rising tensions and further problems: China… and Japan; Near-East/Middle-East; Europe’s crisis, Environmental changes and energy. To these add a few interesting developments in terms of capabilities and technologies… Click on image to read on …

The Red (team) Analysis Weekly No51, 7 June 2012

No51 – 7 June 2012 – Click on the image below to read on Paper.Li (best with mobiles & tablets)

EN