信号。基地组织/伊斯兰国在埃及西部的新战线?

对问题和不确定性的影响 ➚ ➃ 埃及西部的圣战阵线得到加强 ➚ ➃ 埃及受到西奈半岛和西部战线的挤压,面临挑战 ➚ ➄ 伊斯兰国的生存 ➚ ➄ 伊斯兰国在中东北非地区重新崛起。➚ ➄ 在中东和北非地区加强基地组织 ➚ ➄ 加强与其他圣战组织的联系和...。

利比亚战争波及埃及、阿尔及利亚、尼日尔和欧洲--利比亚的未来设想

本文是我们系列文章中的第二篇,重点描述了利比亚战争可能产生的一系列外溢效应。在上一篇文章中,我们详细介绍了引发新的战争的两种外溢情况,其中不仅仅包括利比亚。我们讨论了一个方向的外溢情况--欧洲被卷入这场新的战争,以及两个方向的外溢情况,即阿尔及利亚和尼日尔也被卷入这场战争。在这篇文章中,我们将总结所有方向(西向阿尔及利亚,南向尼日尔,东向埃及,北向欧洲)的蔓延情况。重要的是要注意我们对外溢性子情景的选择。有...

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

利比亚未来的情景--第2场(3)埃及在民族主义方面进行干预

最近,关于接受联合国推动的和平协议的公告,其中有一个组建全国和谐政府的框架(联合国新闻中心,2016年1月2日)。然而,只有来自敌对政府的88名立法者出席了签字仪式,而全国委员会副议长在1月2日表示,全国委员会拒绝该协议,而出席的立法者 "只代表他们自己"--这表明在双方完全认可的协议方面存在困难和混乱(阿巴斯,阿尔巴瓦巴新闻,2016年1月2日;德佩特里斯,石英,2016年1月1日)。此外,尽管和平协议得到了国际社会的支持,联合国也承诺支持利比亚的过渡(同上;纳拉扬和罗伯逊,CNN,2015年12月17日),......

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

中东地区的能源转换。埃及和以色列

当气候变化冲击着中东,当叙利亚和伊拉克被战争吞噬(Valantin,"中东的气候噩梦",The Red Team Analysis Society,2015年9月14日),埃及和以色列正在经历一场深刻的能源革命。实际上,自2011年以来,以色列已经发现了两个巨大的离岸天然气矿床(Valantin,"以色列,中东的天然气和电力",The Red Team Analysis Society,2015年4月27日),而在2015年8月,意大利石油公司ENI在埃及经济专属区发现了一个巨大的离岸自然矿床(Anthony Dipaola,"ENI在地中海发现了巨大的天然气田",Bloomberg Business,2015年8月30日)。换句话说,这两个国家正在将自己变成一个新的、...

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

埃及和气候安全

自2008年发生大规模食品骚乱,随后在2011年发生 "阿拉伯之春革命 "以来,埃及已成为政治、宗教和社会冲突的土地(Krista Mahr,"面包就是生命:埃及的食品和抗议",《时代杂志》,2011年1月31日;Georges Corm,Le Proche-Orient éclaté,2012年),其中一些是以武装激进分子和宗教派别为一方,警察、军队和特工部门为另一方。同时,民间社会强烈涌现。除了壮观的事件,这些国内政治和宗教冲突的原因,除其他因素外,还根植于国际和气候变化的动态。实际上,埃及的社会和政治深受经济、政治、环境和气候变化的纠缠影响。

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

安全和可持续性:埃及的未来?

2014年1月批准的阿拉伯埃及共和国新宪法在四个条款中规定了国家和公民对苏伊士运河、环境和自然资源以及尼罗河的权利和义务。这些条款在当前的国内安全形势下具有政治和战略意义,主要是军方、穆斯林兄弟会之间的紧张关系加剧,以及灾难性的经济形势,而埃及和尼罗河沿岸国家的环境和国际背景又加剧了这种情况。为了理解埃及今天和未来二十年的政治和战略形势,我们必须考虑其当前国家可持续发展危机的背景(Valantin,埃及,气候变化和长期资源......

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

埃及、气候变化和长期的资源内战

自2011年1月 "阿拉伯之春 "到达埃及以来,政治局势演变得相当快(Georges Corm,Le Proche-Orient éclaté,2012)。许多观察家分析说,埃及的政治格局是军队、穆斯林兄弟会和越来越多想要体验民主的人之间的战场,而整个局势正被非常退化的经济形势所压制(Seumas Milne, The Revenge of History, 2013)。此外,这些不同的行为者正在参与阿拉伯国家之间的政治紧张局势,特别是卡塔尔和沙特阿拉伯,以及这些国家与美国之间的紧张局势(Corm,同上)。埃及在中东、非洲以及国际和全球层面都有巨大的政治重要性。自古以来,这个非常独特的 ...

这篇文章的其余部分是为我们 成员 以及那些购买了特殊访问计划的人。确保你得到真正的分析,而不是意见,或者更糟的是,假新闻。 登录 并访问这篇文章。

一个被排斥的俄罗斯?不适合亚洲--人类世的战争 (6)

(艺术指导:Jean-Dominique Lavoix-Carli)从9月1日至9月16日22日,俄罗斯联邦总统弗拉基米尔-普京主持了俄罗斯2022年东方号军事演习。除俄罗斯军队外,此次演习还聚集了包括印度和中国在内的14个国家的军队(Arang Shidore, "东方号军事演习表明俄罗斯远未被孤立", Responsible Statecraft, ...

粮食安全。中国-俄罗斯和乌克兰-人类世的战争(4)

乌克兰战争和巨大的放大效应 自2022年2月24日俄罗斯开始进攻以来,汹涌的战争引发了对全球粮食和能源价格紧张的放大效应。由于西方的 "后",石油、天然气、煤炭和农产品的价格趋势已经在上升 ...

乌克兰战争、大干旱和即将到来的全球粮食危机--人类世战争(3)。

乌克兰战争是一场完美的风暴 乌克兰战争引发了一场涉及能源和粮食危机的全球旋风。后者非常奇特,因为它将战争对全球农业系统的影响与大规模的极端天气事件相结合,如美国中西部的特大干旱。战争是全球性的破坏 事实上,...

ZH

Signal: Al Qaeda / Islamic State New Front In Western Egypt?

Impact on Issues and Uncertainties ➚ ➃  Reinforced jihadist front in Western Egypt ➚ ➃ Challenges to Egypt as it is squeezed between the Sinai and Western fronts ➚ ➄ Survival of the Islamic State ➚ ➄ Islamic State resurgence in the MENA region, notably Libya ➚ ➄ Strengthening of al-Qaeda in the MENA region ➚ ➄ Reinforced linkages with other jihadist groups and …

The Libyan War Spills Over to Egypt, Algeria, Niger and Europe – Scenarios for the Future of Libya

This article is the second of our series focusing on scenarios depicting the range of spillover that could stem from the Libyan war. In our previous article, we detailed two scenarios of spillover that initiate a renewed war encompassing more than just Libya. We discussed a case of spillover in one direction – where Europe is drawn into this renewed war, as well as spillover in two directions, where Algeria and Niger are also drawn into the war. In this article, we shall conclude the spillover scenarios with a contagion taking place in all directions (west towards Algeria, south towards Niger, east towards Egypt, and north towards Europe). It is important to note our choices for spillover sub-scenarios. There are …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

Scenarios for the Future of Libya – Sc 2 (3) Egypt Intervenes on the Nationalist Side

Recently, announcements have been made regarding the acceptance of a UN-facilitated peace agreement with a framework to form a Government of National Accord (UN News Centre, January 2, 2016). However, only 88 lawmakers from the rival governments were in attendance at the signing, while the Deputy Speaker of the GNC stated on January 2nd that the GNC rejects the agreement, and the attending lawmakers represented “only themselves” – signifying difficulties and confusion regarding a fully-endorsed agreement by both sides (Abbas, Albawaba News, January 2, 2016; DePetris, Quartz, January 1, 2016). Furthermore, although the peace deal is supported by the international community and the UN has promised to support Libya in its transition (Ibid; Narayan and Robertson, CNN, December 17, 2015), …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

Energy Transmutation in the Middle East: Egypt and Israel

While climate change is hammering the Middle East, and as Syria and Iraq are engulfed in war (Valantin, “Climate nightmare in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, September 14, 2015), Egypt and Israel are going through a profound energy revolution. In effect, since 2011, Israel has discovered two giant natural gas off-shore deposits (Valantin, “Israel, Natural Gas and Power in the Middle East”, The Red Team Analysis Society, April 27, 2015) while in August 2015, the oil Italian company ENI has discovered a mammoth off-shore natural deposit in the Egyptian economic exclusive zone (Anthony Dipaola, “ENI discovers massive gas fields in the Mediterranean”, Bloomberg Business, August 30, 2015). In other terms, these two countries are transforming themselves into a new, …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

Egypt and Climate Security

Since 2008, when massive food riots took place, followed by the “Arab spring revolution” in 2011, Egypt has become a land of political, religious and social conflicts (Krista Mahr, “Bread is life: food and protest in Egypt“, Time Magazine, January 31, 2011; Georges Corm, Le Proche-Orient éclaté, 2012), some of them between armed militant and religious factions on the one hand, the police, the military and the secret services, on the other. Meanwhile the civil society strongly emerges. Beyond spectacular events, the causes of these domestic political and religious conflicts are rooted, among other factors, into international and climate change dynamics. In effect, Egypt’s society and politics are deeply affected by the entanglement of economic, political, environmental and climate change …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

Security and Sustainability: the Future of Egypt?

The new constitution of the Arab Republic of Egypt, approved in January 2014, states, in four articles, the rights and duties of the state and of the citizens about the Suez Canal, the environment and natural resources, and the Nile. These articles have a political and strategic meaning in the current domestic security situation, dominated by rising tensions between the military, the Muslim Brotherhood, and a catastrophic economic situation, heightened by the environmental and international context of Egypt and of the Nile riparian countries. To understand the political and strategic situation of Egypt, today and during the twenty years to come we must consider the context of its current national sustainability crisis (Valantin, Egypt, climate change and the long resource …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

Egypt, Climate Change and the Long Resource Civil Warfare

Since the “Arab spring” reached Egypt in January 2011, the political situation has evolved quite quickly (Georges Corm, Le Proche-Orient éclaté, 2012). Many observers analyse the Egyptian political landscape as a battlefield between the Army, the Muslim Brotherhood, and a growing number of people wanting to experience democracy, while the whole situation is being put under pressure by a very degraded economic situation (Seumas Milne, The Revenge of History, 2013). Moreover, those different actors are participating in the political tensions between Arab countries, especially Qatar and Saudi Arabia, and between these countries and the U.S. (Corm, ibid). Egypt has tremendous political importance in the Middle East, in Africa, and at the international and global level. Since the antiquity, this very singular …

The remaining part of this article is for our members and those who purchased special access plans. Make sure you get real analysis and not opinion, or, worse, fake news. Log in and access this article.

An Excluded Russia? Not for Asia – Anthropocene Wars (6)

(Art direction: Jean-Dominique Lavoix-Carli) From 1 September to 16 September 22, Vladimir Putin, President of the Federation of Russia, presided the Russian military exercises Vostok 2022. Besides the Russian military, the exercise gathered troops from 14 countries, including India and China (Arang Shidore, “Vostok military exercises indicate that Russia is far from isolated”, Responsible Statecraft, …

Food Security: China-Russia and Ukraine – Anthropocene Wars (4)

The War in Ukraine and the Great Amplification Since the start of the Russian offensive on 24 February 2022, the raging war has triggered an amplification of the tension on global food and energy prices. The price trends for oil, gas, coal and agricultural products were already on the rise because of the Western “post” …

War in Ukraine, Megadrought and the Coming Global Food Crisis – Anthropocene Wars (3)

The War in Ukraine as a Perfect Storm The war in Ukraine triggers a global whirlwind involving energy and food crisis. The latter is quite singular, because it combines the consequences of the war on the global agricultural system with massive extreme weather events, such as the U.S. midwestern megadrought. War as global disruption Indeed, …

EN